Upgrading to Drupal8 – Episode 1

Website

Dec 17

Episode 1 – Drupal 7 the Ghost of Christmas Past

Christmas is coming,
The geese are getting fat,
Please put a penny
In the old man’s hat.
If you haven’t got a penny,
A ha’penny will do,
If you haven’t got a ha’penny,
Then it’s time for a big scarey Drupal update!

Drupal8 has been released and even though I like Drupal7, it’s time to jump into the next version and see what it’s all about.

I’m typing this in droop7 (pre-upgrade) and I’m going to record the upgrade experience here. Hopefully the look and feel of the website will remain the same. I really like this theme but will make an upgrade decision once I’ve worked my way to the bottom of the list of modules that I use. Once I’ve checked them all, I will decide wether to pull the trigger. It looks like some things have been ported to Drupal8, some have just been killed off and others have been migrated into core Drupal8:

Upgrading to Drupal8 - Episode 1Modules

  • Activate Tags – Dead
  • Admin Menu – using Drupal8 Core functions
  • Adsense – Dead
  • Captcha – https://www.drupal.org/project/captcha
  • Chaos Tools – https://www.drupal.org/project/ctools
  • Colorbox – https://www.drupal.org/project/colorbox
  • CCK – using Drupal8 Core functions
  • Content Injector – Dead
  • Date – not needed
  • Devel – https://www.drupal.org/project/devel
  • Display Suite – https://www.drupal.org/project/ds
  • Disqus – https://www.drupal.org/project/disqus
  • Drupal for Facebook – DEAD (which is a shame because I liked this module – will check back on this sometime)
  • Easy Social – https://www.drupal.org/project/easy_social
  • Entity – using Drupal8 Core functions
  • Facet APi – not useable yet (will check back on this sometime)
  • Fast Toggle – Dead
  • Features – https://www.drupal.org/project/features
  • Feeds – https://www.drupal.org/project/feeds
  • Follow – Dead
  • Global Redirect – deprecated by https://www.drupal.org/project/redirect
  • Google Analytics – https://www.drupal.org/project/google_analytics
  • imageApi – using Drupal8 Core functions
  • imageCache Token – using Drupal8 Core functions
  • IMCE – https://www.drupal.org/project/imce
  • IMCE rename – Dead
  • IMCE Tools – Dead
  • IMCE WYSIWIG Bridge – Dead
  • Instagram Social Feed – Dead
  • Job Scheduler – https://www.drupal.org/project/job_scheduler
  • JQuery plugin – using Drupal8 Core functions
  • JQuery Update – using Drupal8 Core functions
  • Libraries API – https://www.drupal.org/project/libraries
  • LoginToboggan – dead and now using Core login style
  • Metatag – https://www.drupal.org/project/metatag
  • Module Filter – using Drupal8 Core functions
  • Node Clone – not ready. will install once its ready https://www.drupal.org/project/node_clone
  • Node Convert – not ready. will install once its ready https://www.drupal.org/project/node_convert
  • Note Export – Dead
  • OAuth – https://www.drupal.org/project/oauth
  • Pathauto – https://www.drupal.org/project/pathauto
  • Pathologic – https://www.drupal.org/project/pathologic
  • Persistent Login – https://www.drupal.org/project/persistent_login
  • PL Upload – https://www.drupal.org/project/persistent_login
  • Rename Admin Paths – https://www.drupal.org/project/rename_admin_paths
  • Rules – https://www.drupal.org/project/rules
  • Save Draft – in Core
  • Search 404 – https://www.drupal.org/project/search404
  • Search and Replace Scanner – Dead
  • Search API – https://www.drupal.org/project/search_api
  • Search API DB – in Search API module
  • Site Verification – in METATAG module
  • Strongarm – in Core
  • TagClouds – https://www.drupal.org/project/tagclouds
  • Taxonomy Manager – https://www.drupal.org/project/taxonomy_manager
  • Term Merge – Dead
  • Token – https://www.drupal.org/project/token
  • Transliteration – in Core
  • UUID – in Core
  • Variable – Dead
  • Views – in Core
  • Views Slideshow – https://www.drupal.org/project/views_slideshow
  • WYSIWIG – Deprecated because CKEDITOR in Core
  • XMLSITEMAP – https://www.drupal.org/project/xmlsitemap

Theme

  • NEXUS – This hasnt been uplifted to Droop8 yet 🙁

Hmmmmm…. I will have to find another look and feel for the blog. What a shame, I love this theme.

Decision Time

That is large list of modules that are being killed off!

I expect my Drupal 8 version of this website to be much leaner (and faster?) than the Drupal 7 version. I’m going to back everything up (obviously) and then disable all the modules. Uninstall the modules that are not supported by Drupal 8 (to tidy up the database) and then I have to choose a new Theme. This almost a show stopper for me, I’ve been using this theme for years and really like the look and feel

Decision = sleep on it and upgrade at the weekend.

I think I’m going to screen cast the upgrade process and any problems that I encounter so check back later

🙂

Follow

About the Author

IBM i Software Developer, Digital Dad, AS400 Anarchist, RPG Modernizer, Alpha Nerd and Passionate Eater of Cheese and Biscuits. Nick Litten Dot Com is a mixture of blog posts that can be sometimes serious, frequently playful and probably down-right pointless all in the space of a day. Enjoy your stay, feel free to comment and in the words of the most interesting man in the world: Stay thirsty my friend.